About Us

Northeast South Dakota Area Health Education Center

Through community-based initiatives, Northeast South Dakota Area Health Education Center, also known as Northeast SD AHEC, works to promote rural health educational opportunities and address health workforce challenges including the underserved population, and those unique to the region including the following South Dakota counties: Corson, Ziebach, Dewey, Campbell, Walworth, Potter, Sully, Hughes, Hyde, Faulk, Edmunds, McPherson, Hand, Brown, Beadle, Spink, Marshall, Day, Clark, Kingsbury, Roberts, Grant, Codington, Hamlin, Brookings, and Deuel.

Our Mission

To create and strengthen partnerships that cultivate a robust health workforce for rural and underserved communities in South Dakota. 

Our Values

We deliver quality activities and services that our participants and partners value.
We promote equity and inclusivity.
We act with fairness, transparency, and the highest level of ethics.
We value partnerships and support interprofessional approaches.
We strive to foster systemic change through new and creative thinking.
We strive to ensure effective interactions with stakeholders, partners, and participants

Our Goals

Northeast SD AHEC is designed to strengthen the health professions workforce in North East South Dakota through collaborations with communities and academic partners that support life-long learning and ensure a future generation of health professionals in rural South Dakota.

Our History

The National AHEC program was developed by Congress in 1971 to recruit, train, and retain a health professions workforce committed to underserved populations. With the objective of eliminating Health Profession Shortage Areas, the national program was designed to encourage universities and educators to look beyond their institutions and partner with communities to promote cooperative solutions with local benefits.